Building on Success

Investment Highlights

The best of German real estate

Consus develops large-scale residential and commercial property projects in one of the most attractive real estate markets in the world: Germany. Our business strategy is to focus our efforts on Germany’s top 9 cities – the premium cities. A strong track record and promising future prospects indicates that Consus is – and will continue to be – a force to be reckoned with.

Contact

Consus Real Estate AG

Kurfürstendamm 188-189
10707 Berlin
Germany

  1. 12.3

    bn €
    GDV
  2. 65

    Projects
  3. 2.25

    m sqm
    Total area
  4. 5,465

    Ø price per sqm
  5. 1.3

    m sqm
    Living area

    Developing real estate in Germany

    The case for Germany being the place for profitable real estate investments right now and in the foreseeable future is strong, as the country is in urgent need of additional living space. German chancellor Angela Merkel stated in 20181:

    1.5 Million new apartments and homes need to be built within the next four years. This is a matter of urgency.
    Angela Merkel, Federal Chancellor

    The demand for residential property is especially high in urban areas – the top 9 German cities Berlin, Cologne, Dresden, Dusseldorf, Frankfurt, Hamburg, Leipzig, Munich and Stuttgart present the most promising investment opportunities. Based on current, reliable data (see price development graph below), the market value for real estate development in these cities between now and 2035 is projected to exceed € 520 billion.

    This estimate is based on the current purchase price per sqm. in the respective cities and the average flat size in Germany (ca. 92 sqm.), without taking into account future property price increases. Thus, the true potential is very likely to be even higher, as demand is expected to continue to outstrip supply for the coming years.

    Price development in Germany’s top 9 cities

    With Consus focusing on developing real estate in all of these high-potential cities, we are in a great position to make the most out of the appealing market conditions Germany has to offer.

    Berlin
    Dresden
    Dusseldorf
    Frankfurt
    Hamburg
    Cologne
    Leipzig
    Munich
    Stuttgart

    Building success on a strong foundation

    Consus’ key assets for successful real estate development in Germany are our strong portfolio, business model and our status as one of Germany’s leading developers. Furthermore, we have the right tools at our disposal to improve on our already strong operative and financial capacities.

    While our journey to fully harness the capabilities of Consus by streamlining our organizational structure is still ongoing, significant progress has been made. Furthermore, we have achieved major milestones, both financially and in terms of project development since our equity raise in 2018.

     

    Consus’ key assets for successful real estate development in Germany are our strong portfolio, business model and our status as one of Germany’s leading developers. Furthermore, we have the right tools at our disposal to improve on our already strong operative and financial capacities.

    While our journey to fully harness the capabilities of Consus by streamlining our organizational structure is still ongoing, significant progress has been made. Furthermore, we have achieved major milestones, both financially and in terms of project development since our equity raise in 2018.

     

    Our Projects

    With our current assets adding up to a project gross development value of over € 12 billion, Consus has already claimed the #1 spot as Germany’s largest residential real estate developer in the top 9 cities.

    57 of our 65 current German real estate development projects are located directly in one of the country’s top 9 cities for property investment, with the 11 remaining projects focusing on up-and-coming high-potential cities like Erfurt, Bayreuth or Passau.

    Our track record speaks for itself: Successful forward sales – some of which were realized even before the beginning of construction – clearly indicate that we develop our large-scale real estate projects where it matters most to investors, aspiring property owners and future tenants.

    Project spotlight from Germany’s top 9 cities

    City Project Under construction Forward sold Net floor area (sqm) GDV in million €
    Berlin Franklinhaus yes yes 11,268 75
    Cologne Cologneo I yes yes 54,321 241
    Dresden Quartier Hoym yes yes 26,651 141
    Dusseldorf UpperNord Tower VauVau yes yes 25,066 175
    Frankfurt NewFrankfurt Towers VauVau yes yes 37,745 218
    Hamburg Holsten Quartier no no 133,517 839
    Leipzig Ostforum yes yes 17,778 67
    Munich Covent Garden no no 29,273 303
    Stuttgart No. 1 yes yes 18,686 94

    Consus 2019: A year of success

    An analysis of our achievements within the past year shows that we are on track to serve as a strong and reliable consolidator on the German real estate market in the coming years. Following major acquisitions in 2018, Consus’ EBITDA has seen considerable growth in 2019. At the same time, we have made significant progress in terms of debt reduction.

      Adjusted Q 2018 Q3 2019
    Total Income € 247.7m € 590.2m
    Overall Performance € 464.0m € 671.3m
    Adjusted EBITDA € 93.4m € 285.2m
    Financial Result € 114.1m € 173.1m
    Consolidated Net Income € 8.4m € 74.1m

    Additionally, Consus has continuously made progress in other departments as well. These following milestones have partly impacted the strong financial performance of 2019 and partly have helped to set the stage for future success:

    The road ahead

    A main objective for Consus is further progress in deleveraging through reducing the average interest rate by ca. 200 basis points to 6 % and, in addition to our recent progress in this area (see our Q3 2019 financial report) to further reduce our debt-to-equity ratio.

    Consus is a growth story, and also a deleveraging investment case. Our strong growth combined with a focus on reducing our cost of debt is planned to reduce our leverage to 3x in the medium term.
    Benjamin Lee - CFO of Consus

    Digitization meets synergies

    One of Consus’ key strengths is our focus on developing large-scale real estate projects. These are in many cases not restricted to single buildings, but rather consist of whole quarters. The sheer scale of projects like the Holsten Quartiere in Hamburg or the Benrather Gärten in Dusseldorf comes with barriers to entry – and with significant benefits in terms of cost efficiency. We are currently working on improving the latter even further.

    By digitizing all stages of project development, from planning to facility management, we aspire to considerably cut the costs across the entire value chain of real estate development {link to digitization}. Making use of our digital toolset will – among other benefits – allow us to:

    • optimize architectural planning
    • precisely calculate costs
    • conserve resources
    • lower production costs by prefabricating building components through serialized production

    The digital transformation of our project planning and production processes is one of our top priorities. Once in full effect, it will play an important role in improving both sustainability and profit margins in the future.

    The third important building block for an even more successful future is further streamlining the structure of the Consus Group, leveraging synergies and ultimately fully integrating our subsidiaries into our brand.

    Consus is in the process of integrating its subsidiaries into one efficient business, which can take best practice across the group and combine it with economies of scale.
    Andreas Steyer - CEO of Consus

    Consus: Ready for the future

    We at Consus are confident that we will succeed in mastering the challenge of transforming and improving our company to solidify our status as one of the most important – and successful – real estate developers in Germany.

    Thanks to our proven track record and a positive outlook for the future – as also pointed out by various financial analysts before and after the announcement of or strategic co-operation agreement with ADO Properties, Consus is clearly on track to fulfill its potential.

    Learn more about Consus

    Find out more about property investment opportunities in Germany, our company success story and our future plans.

    Contact

    Get in touch with our Investor Relations team for further information.

    Newsletter

    Stay up to date with the latest news on Consus and our real estate projects by signing up for our newsletter.

Auf Erfolg gebaut

Investment Highlights

Das Beste des deutschen Immobilienmarktes

Consus entwickelt große Wohn- und Gewerbeimmobilienprojekte in einem der attraktivsten Immobilienmärkte der Welt: Deutschland. Unsere Geschäftsstrategie ist es, uns auf die Top 9 der deutschen Städte zu konzentrieren – die Premiumstädte. Eine starke Erfolgsbilanz und vielversprechende Zukunftsaussichten zeigen, dass Consus ein Unternehmen ist, mit dem zu rechnen ist.   

Kontakt

Consus Real Estate AG

Kurfürstendamm 188-189
10707 Berlin
Deutschland

  1. 10,3

    Mrd. €
    GDV
  2. 67

    Projekte
  3. 2,2

    Mio. m²
    Gesamtfläche
  4. 4.234

    Ø Verkaufspreis pro m²
  5. 1,2

    Mio. m²
    Wohnfläche

    Immobilienentwicklung in Deutschland 

    Es spricht vieles dafür, dass Deutschland aktuell der Ort für profitable Immobilieninvestitionen ist und für absehbare Zeit bleiben wird. Ein Hauptgrund ist die konstant hohe Nachfrage nach Wohnraum. Kanzlerin Angela Merkel sah hier 2018 dringenden Handlungsbedarf1:

    In den nächsten vier Jahren müssen 1,5 Millionen neue Wohnungen und Häuser gebaut werden. Das ist auch dringend notwendig.
    Angela Merkel, Bundeskanzlerin

    Besonders stark ist die Nachfrage nach Wohnimmobilien in städtischen Gebieten – die Top 9 deutschen Städte Berlin, Köln, Dresden, Düsseldorf, Frankfurt, Hamburg, Leipzig, München und Stuttgart bieten die vielversprechendsten Investitionsmöglichkeiten. Aktuellen, zuverlässigen Daten zufolge (siehe interaktive Grafik unten) wird der Marktwert für die Immobilienentwicklung in diesen Städten bis 2035 voraussichtlich bei über 520 Mrd. Euro liegen.

    Diese Schätzung basiert auf dem aktuellen Quadratmeterpreis in den jeweiligen Städten und der durchschnittlichen Wohnungsgröße in Deutschland (ca. 92m²), ohne Berücksichtigung künftiger Immobilienpreissteigerungen. Da die Nachfrage in den kommenden Jahren voraussichtlich weiterhin das Angebot übertreffen wird, ist es sehr wahrscheinlich, dass das tatsächliche Potenzial sogar noch größer ist. 

    Preisentwicklung in Deutschlands Top 9 Städten

    Dank unserer Fokussierung auf die Immobilienentwicklung in all diesen Zukunftsstädten ist Consus in einer guten Position, die attraktiven Marktbedingungen in Deutschland optimal zu nutzen.

    Berlin
    Dresden
    Düsseldorf
    Frankfurt
    Hamburg
    Köln
    Leipzig
    München
    Stuttgart

    Ein starkes Fundament für Erfolg

    Die wichtigsten Bausteine für erfolgreiche Immobilienentwicklung in Deutschland sind für Consus unser starkes Portfolio, unser Geschäftsmodell sowie unsere Position als einer der führenden Projektentwickler des Landes. Darüber hinaus verfügen wir über die passenden Instrumente, um unsere starken operativen und finanziellen Kapazitäten weiter zu verbessern.

    Unser Ziel, das Potenzial von Consus durch eine Straffung der Organisationsstruktur voll auszuschöpfen, ist zwar noch nicht abschließend erreicht, konnten aber bereits bedeutende Fortschritte erzielen. Darüber hinaus haben wir seit unserer Eigenkapitalerhöhung im Jahr 2018 wichtige Meilensteine erreicht – sowohl finanziell als auch in der Projektentwicklung. 

    Consus: Unsere Projekte im Fokus

    Mit einem GDV von knapp über 10 Mrd. Euro hat Consus den ersten Platz als Deutschlands größter Immobilienentwickler in den Top 9 Städten bereits für sich beansprucht.

    57 unserer 67 aktuellen deutschen Immobilienentwicklungsprojekte befinden sich direkt in einer der Top 9 Städte des Landes für Immobilieninvestitionen, die restlichen Projekte konzentrieren sich auf aufstrebende Zukunftsstädte wie Erfurt, Bayreuth oder Passau.

    Unsere Erfolgsgeschichte spricht für sich: Erfolgreiche Forward Sales – die teilweise bereits vor Baubeginn abgewickelt wurden – zeigen deutlich, dass wir unsere großen Immobilienprojekte an Standorten entwickeln, wo es für Investoren, angehenden Immobilienbesitzer und künftige Mieter am meisten Sinn ergibt.

    Projekt-Schlaglichter aus Deutschlands Top 9 Städten

    Stadt Projekt Baubeginn erfolgt Forward Sold Nettogeschossfläche (m²) GDV in Mio. Euro
    Berlin Franklinhaus Ja Ja 11.268 75
    Köln Cologneo I Ja Ja 54.321 241
    Dresden Quartier Hoym Ja Ja 26.651 141
    Düsseldorf UpperNord Tower VauVau Ja Ja 25.066 175
    Frankfurt NewFrankfurt Towers VauVau Ja Ja 37.745 218
    Hamburg Holsten Quartiere Nein Nein 133.517 839
    Leipzig Ostforum Ja Ja 17.778 67
    München Covent Garden Nein Nein 29.273 303
    Stuttgart No. 1 Ja Ja 18.686 94

    Consus 2019: Ein Erfolgsjahr

    Eine Analyse unserer Erfolge des vergangenen Jahres zeigt, dass wir auf dem besten Weg sind, in den kommenden Jahren die Rolle eines starken und zuverlässigen Konsolidierers auf dem deutschen Immobilienmarkt ausfüllen zu können. Nach großen Akquisitionen in 2018 ist das bereinigte EBITDA von Consus im Jahr 2019 signifikant angestiegen. Gleichzeitig konnten wir den Verschuldungsgrad deutlich senken.

      Adjusted Q 2018 Q3 2019
    Total Income 247,7 Mio. € € 590,2 Mio.
    Overall Performance  464,0 Mio. € 671,3 Mio. €
    Adjusted EBITDA 93,4 Mio. € 285,2 Mio. €
    Financial Result 114,1 Mio. € 173,1 Mio. €
    Consolidated Net Income 8,4 Mio. € 74,1 Mio. €

     

    Darüber hinaus hat Consus auch in anderen Bereichen kontinuierlich Fortschritte erzielt. Die folgenden Meilensteine haben die starke finanzielle Performance des Jahres 2019 in Teilen beeinflusst und dazu beigetragen, die Voraussetzungen für zukünftige Erfolge zu schaffen:

    Unsere Vision

    Unser Schwerpunkt liegt derzeit darauf, die Weichen für anhaltende künftige Erfolge zu stellen. Um dies zu erreichen, hat Consus sich ehrgeizige, aber realistische Ziele gesetzt.

    Ein Hauptziel von Consus ist es, weitere Fortschritte beim Schuldenabbau zu erzielen, indem wir den durchschnittlichen Schuldenzinssatz um ca. 200 Basispunkte auf 6 % und den Verschuldungsgrad über die bisherigen Fortschritte hinaus (siehe Q3-Report) weiterhin kontinuierlich zu senken.

    Consus ist eine Wachstumsstory und auch ein Investment Case in Sachen Schuldenabbau. Unser starkes Wachstum in Verbindung mit einem Fokus auf die Reduzierung unserer Fremdkapitalkosten soll unseren Verschuldungsgrad mittelfristig auf den Faktor 3 senken.
    Benjamin Lee, CFO Consus

    Digitalisierung trifft auf Synergien

    Eine von Consus‘ Schlüsselkompetenzen ist unser Fokus auf die Entwicklung großer Immobilienprojekte. Diese bestehen in vielen Fällen nicht aus einzelnen Gebäuden, sondern aus ganzen Quartieren. Die Größe von Projekten wie dem Holsten Quartier in Hamburg oder den Benrather Gärten in Düsseldorf bringt nicht nur hohe Zugangsbarrieren mit sich, sondern auch erhebliche Vorteile in Bezug auf die Kosteneffizienz.

    Unser Ziel ist es, letztgenannte bei all unseren Projekten noch weiter zu verbessern. Durch die Digitalisierung aller Stufen der Projektentwicklung, von der Planung bis zum Facility Management, wollen wir die Kosten entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette der Immobilienentwicklung deutlich senken. Die Nutzung unseres digitalen Toolsets wird es uns unter anderem ermöglichen:

    • die Architekturplanung zu optimieren
    • Kosten genau zu kalkulieren
    • Ressourcen zu schonen
    • durch Vorfertigung von Bauteilen in Serienfertigung die Produktionskosten zu senken.

    Die digitale Transformation unserer Projektierungs- und Produktionsprozesse ist eine unserer obersten Prioritäten. Nach vollständiger Umsetzung wird sie in Zukunft eine wichtige Rolle bei der Verbesserung der Nachhaltigkeit und der Gewinnmargen spielen.

    Der dritte wichtige Baustein für eine noch erfolgreichere Zukunft ist die weitere Straffung der Struktur der Consus-Gruppe um Synergien zu nutzen und schließlich die vollständige Integration unserer Tochtergesellschaften in unsere Marke zu erreichen.

    Consus ist dabei, seine Tochtergesellschaften in ein einziges effizientes Unternehmen zu integrieren. So können wir bewährte Verfahren in der gesamten Gruppe anwenden und diese mit Skaleneffekten kombinieren.
    Andreas Steyer, CEO Consus

    Consus: Bereit für die Zukunft

    Wir bei Consus sind zuversichtlich, die Herausforderung, unser Unternehmen weiter zu transformieren und zu verbessern, zu meistern. Unser Ziel bleibt es, unseren Status als einer der wichtigsten – und erfolgreichsten – Immobilienentwickler in Deutschland zu festigen.

    Dank unserer eindrucksvollen Erfolgsbilanz und einem positiven Ausblick auf die Zukunft – wie auch von verschiedenen Finanzanalysten sowohl im Vorfeld als auch im Nachgang der Bekanntgabe unserer strategischen Kooperation mit ADO Properties aufgezeigt – ist Consus auf definitiv auf dem richtigen Weg, das vorhandene Potenzial voll auszuschöpfen.

    Erfahren Sie mehr über Consus 

    Entdecken Sie unsere Projekte und machen Sie sich Consus, dem führenden Projektentwickler in Deutschlands Top 9 Städten vertraut. 

    Kontakt

    Consus Real Estate AG

    Kurfürstendamm 187-189
    10707 Berlin
    Deutschland

    Newsletter

    Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden mit den neuesten Nachrichten über Consus und unsere Immobilienprojekte, indem Sie sich für unseren Newsletter anmelden.